top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurCaptain America

On Turning 21

On the 21st of October 2019 I'm turning 21. Even if the 21st birthday doesn't seem important for everyone in comparison of the age of 18, celebrate my 21st year on Earth will be a huge moment for me. Being 21 means being legal all over the world, being an adult for everyone. I'm not good with dates but I never forget a birthday, it's weird. Okay. So x amount of years ago, you were born. Its not really that big of a deal but I personally believe birthdays should be recognised. Celebrate yourself. You made it.

I think I hate the traditions surrounding January first. It's the beginning of a new year but it comes smack dab in the middle of winter, the school year, and the peak of my seasonal affective disorder. So, I'm not generally interested. I especially hate new years resolutions. I don't get why people are setting themselves up to fail. You're not going to go to the gym and you're probably not going to quit smoking. Stop giving yourself false hope. This isn't the beginning of a new you. Despite that cynical rant, I like the fact of setting goals around birthday. It follows the path of your life, the direction you will take by growing more and more everyday. Your birthday should be the only year-day you update yourself to a better you.

As I'm turning 21 in a few days, I decide to set myself some goals for the upcoming year (it's pretty obvious right now). It is basically a big deal for me because I've never trust in my capacity of reaching my goals. I hope my 21st year of living on Earth will be the first of all I can achieve some of the hardest purposes of my thoughts.


The first one seems pretty easy but I think it may not be as obvious as we expect : live better. Woah, seems almost philosophic isn't it? But I think I've never figured living a different life that the one I lived during the past three years. To be honest, I didn't live the ideal healthy life I should. Maybe I should eat healthier, go to gym more often or any other things to be the perfect IG fit girl. Let's be honest guys, I do never be like this. Let's do it step by step, by my own pace.

  • First, something easy to do may be, for example, going to bed one minute earlier every week: insomnia is a great friend of mine and going to bed before midnight seems very difficult for me; night is probably the best time to wonder, being alone with yourself or even going out and party with some friends, but I have to change my mind on that point.

  • Second, cook more often is so far the best way to eat healthier; soup, salad, smoothie and, I do not know more meals to do but I will find a few later, of course. Eat healthy food has always been good for your body, your mind but also for your abilities. It's not a myth but I need to convince myself that cookies, pizzas, and beers everyday are not that good as I thought.

  • Third, sport is so easy to do: going on a walk everyday, practice a collective sport with some friends or I don't know but do it, you'll feel better after a good sport lesson.

The second is the most precious and important for me : keep practice music. Everyone who knows me a little notices I'm obsess with music. From my very young age, I've been attracted to the fact people can play with instruments or even their vocal cords and create, so that, a melody that makes me cry or anything else. Even if I love music in any of its form (expect the 2010s commercial) I've touch an instrument before the age of 16: in 2014, my cousin offered me the present I ever got: an acoustic guitar (and I still play it each time I can); it is an black and yellow Ibanez of 2010 with the largest body I've seen. When I was young, I saw music instruments everywhere I went and I play them even if I hadn't learned (prodigy lol); I was awful to ears I guess. Anyway, no more self-praises. This year, I want to learn something new, hum piano maybe?


Third : learn a new language. I guess I'm good in French and English (or not as well lol) but I need to learn another language. By learning a new language I mean 'practice some basics from a common European language so that I could tell everyone I can speak a bit of, I don't know, Portuguese, German, Spanish or even Swedish'. Step by step and word by word... I downloaded Duolingo and I will do my best :)


The last one is the hardest one : succeed. But, what success exactly means? Again, too much philosophy. For the past three years, I put myself in a bad study routine which was basically based on the last-minute hard review of my courses. From September of this year, I quit my peaceful and glorious student town to another College nearer my home; you probably noticed, I'm not living alone anymore so no more liberty, no more parties and no more procrastination. Believe in my future, believe I can achieve, believe in me.


You are not less than others. Perhaps this girl is fitter than you but she's probably not what you think, maybe you're better. Each person is different and, fortunately, it's not very usual to meet someone who's exactly like you. Don't trust people you saw on The Internet or any other place, sometimes, they have inspiring thoughts but it only has to inspire you for your own purpose. Be yourself, even when you set goals. Be yourself guys and see the world on your own way.

 

Source image : tumblr

20 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page